Fallen by Lauren Kate Book Review

www.GIFCreator.me_Acd6fR

Author:  Lauren Kate

Pages: 452 pages

Publication: September 28, 2010, Delacorte Books for Young Readers

Rating:

three point five stars

3.5 stars

    Before I start this book review I’d like to say hello guys! It’s been a while again and I’m so pumped up to have my first ever book review for this year. Cheers for that and cheers for me to have finally found some time to make a blog post after many months of missing in action. I’ve got a loose schedule nowadays since it’s summer break and I can finally tuck myself into bed peacefully with my pillows and blankets, read more books, have time for my blog, and write some stuffs so I’m trying my best to make this summer productive while having fun.

     Now into my book review, I’ve started to read Fallen last Sunday and finished it today. Basically, it took me one week to finish the book. While I was in the first few chapters, I decided to watch the movie adaptation of Fallen which I regretted in the end. I’ve got a lot of expectations from this book and these expectations are in a form of questions. The movie gave me some ideas about the book and it also made my expectations higher since the movie did not explain the story well and it’s expected because it’s a movie. There’s a huge line between movie adaptation and the book and I already knew that, but the reason why I watched the movie is to have some ideas about the characters and its story. I totally regretted watching the movie because my ideals for the book got turned off and as I continued reading I am starting to get annoyed by the characters.

fallen-movie-cast-702x336

   Luce Price the main character, I can understand her at first but as I start to know her character better it annoyed me on how cowardly she is. No offense though and I don’t know if I’m being biased right here but I just can’t get some parts of her character. I know that she’s clueless about everything and I don’t know why it annoys me so much and I also know I shouldn’t  get annoyed because it’s somehow part of the story process. I just can’t help myself but I’m actually doing good on making my common sense work in order for me to just get into her character. All I can say is maybe because the story is just slow paced and I’m not really used with slow paced stories, maybe that’s why I got annoyed and frustrated with Luce.

www.GIFCreator.me_GlzeUw

    There are also many questions that are hanging everywhere inside my head and I know I shouldn’t push through yet because you know this is just the first book of the series. I can say that Lauren Kate did a great job in keeping her readers intrigued and frustrated because she hid a lot of secrecies and mysteries behind the story. Most of the series that I’ve read, I’ve observed that most questions were already answered in the first book and new questions will be formed in the other books but it’s still connected. Whereas, in this series it’s totally different because the questions are continuous. All of your questions will not be answered by the first book and when there’ll be some answers, it is very very  vague. In other words, this book will not leave you satisfied but instead it will really leave you hungry for answers and frustrated because of its vagueness. Believe me or not, this is how I interpreted the book and I don’t know if it’s a good thing or not. You’ll really not have an idea about what’s happening just like the main character. There are no other point of views so it’s really up to you and the main character on how you’ll unveil the secrets and mysteries. I just hope as the series goes deeper, answers will be really provided and somehow in the end there will be no loose ends.

      I think I’m just not used with this kind of format where readers are always left hanging and frustrated. I’m a reader who usually loves fast paced stories and with different questions per book inside my head and right now in this series same questions are still hanging inside my head. It’s really bothering me and it keeps me frustrated but I think I just need to stretch my patience a little bit longer. I also hate the way the other characters make Luce so clueless, vulnerable, and somehow unimportant then immediately important in certain events. Like why? How could you do that without an explanation? Why always the vague expressions and answers? JUST WHY? It frustrates me because it makes Luce so coward and a dependent useless main character. Sure, she finds way to solve the mystery but she gets interrupted and unfocused that in the end it took too much of her time. She’s a smart witty character I admit but I just hope as the story goes I’ll find her finally doing a real action for the dilemma and somehow she’ll learn how to keep her balance and emotions aside. I really really hope so and I’m crossing my fingers right now.

www.GIFCreator.me_YlpnxY

    I’m looking forward to see Luce grow in the story and get to know the other characters even more especially Daniel Grigori and Cam Briel. They also play a huge part in the series since they are the love interest of our very own main character Luce Price. Though, I really want to call Luce with her real name which is Lucinda. It sounds classy and ancient it’s definitely my taste.

d4177687f5ef60b02b80c31e6b054c82

   I think this is it for my book review and I feel relieved. I finally ranted everything out and now I can continue reading the second book peacefully.

We can also discuss and rant more about the first book down below just feel free to comment. 🙂

Thank you guys and next time again!

–  Shawna a.k.a BookishshimmyCaster

4 thoughts on “Fallen by Lauren Kate Book Review

  1. I read this book so long ago I hardly remember what happens but I do remember thinking this book was all over the place. It was sort of a mess and although I found the idea nice it seems the author was trying to give us too many characters and information without really answering any questions. As for the movie I hadn’t realized it came out? I heard buzz about it like 3 years ago and figured it got canceled honestly. (Lol) Was the movie at least well done?

    Liked by 1 person

    • I don’t really know if that kind of mess is for good or not but I think it just makes the story unique and what it is right now. About the movie though, uhmmm *cries* don’t expect a lot of things from it. It didn’t even reached the book unfortunately. It’s a big mess and I think it’s a mess that will be hard to patch up if they are planning to have a second movie which I haven’t heard any news so far.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

