Shadow and Bone by: Leigh Bardugo Book Review!

Yo! I’m alive and still kickin’ fellas!

I’ve been very very busy with school stuffs! Senior High made my life busy nowadays and I’m not complaining at all. Well… maybe sometimes but Senior High is fun and I hope it will continue until the end of the school year. 🙂

So, let’s go back to the main topic for this post and start the book review!

10194157.jpg

Author: Leigh Bardugo

Pages: 327 pages

Publication:  May 7th 2013 by: Square Fish

Rating:

four

I’ve finished reading Shadow and Bone within the month of May. Probably, within the last two weeks of my summer. I’ve been procrastinating to read this book since last year because I knew that I might get hooked by the series. I was still in the middle of my Throne of Glass series hungover when I decided to grab this book. I was really having a hard time concentrating on the books that I’ve read before Shadow and Bone and it was so frustrating! It was kinda hard to recover from the Throne of Glass series. Even in my dreams Aelin Galathynius would still haunt me. But what got me to push through the book was its mysterious setting and these hard words to pronounce.The first sentence of the book brought me back to the world of Harry Potter. Seriously, I’m not kidding. The book gave me some Harry Potter feels but the book is unique in its own way. The terminologies, the places, the hierarchy was beautifully made.

In this story the world is composed of  Humans and Grisha. Grisha are those people who possessed a supernatural power while humans well, they are just humans they don’t have any special abilities and that made them feel intimidated. The Grisha are divide into orders: Corporalki, Etherealki, and the Materialki. The names are so brilliant and hard to pronounce right? Which made this book awesome and interesting. Like where did just these names came from? How did the author came up with these stunningly insane ideas?! Anyway, let’s discuss more about the orders. The Corporalki are divided into two which are the Healers and the Heartenders. Corporalki can be also called as The Order of the Living and The Dead. We can also say that the Corporalki is the highest order of Grisha aside from the Darkling of course. The Darkling is like the king of the Grisha and it seems like the Darkling is the villain of this story which is kinda sad for me. Etherealki, this order is composed of Inferni, Squallers, and Tidemakers. They can be called as The Order of Summoners. Yup, that’s right they can summon fire, air, and, water. Then there was this girl who was discovered by accident that she can summon a light. She was called as the Sun Summoner and she’s considered as a special summoner. She caught the attention of the Darkling and boom the adventure began. Lastly, the Materialki which is composed of the Durasts and Alkemi and they can be called as The Order of Fabrikators.

You see, the hierarchy of the story will really get you and the magical setting too. The story would not be that wonderful without its interesting love affair right? So don’t worry the love affair in this book is not that confusing and heart breaking. Well at least for me I guess, compared to the series I’ve read before Shadow and Bone. But still it was enough to give me some feels. So out of 5 stars I rate this book with 4 stars. The book was interesting, fast paced, magical, and a lot more. But I’m still searching for some factor that will really leave a mark inside my head, heart, and probably my soul. (HAHAHA!) So 4 stars for now.

I’m currently reading the second book which is The Siege and Storm and I’m reading it in a slow manner. Good heavens, I’m so busy with school stuffs that even my time for reading was consumed. I’m doing my best to finish the book within this month though. My Preliminary Exams is fast approaching. *crosses my fingers*

Wish me luck fellas! That’s it for this book review! Hope, to make a book talk about this series when I finished reading them all. 🙂 Don’t forget to leave your thoughts down below.

See ya’ll soon.

-Shawna 🙂

7 thoughts on “Shadow and Bone by: Leigh Bardugo Book Review!

  1. I can’t wait to finally get to read this book I cheated and read Six of Crows first. (I didn’t know the series were related at the time.)

    Like

  2. sounds nice I haven’t had time to read red queen yet, I totally understand you it so little time to read some times

    Like

Leave a Reply

