The Mara Dyer Trilogy by: Michelle Hodkin BOOK REVIEW!

Tadaaa!!! Guess what guys? I’m going to do a book review for Michelle Hodkin’s Mara Dyer Trilogy! It’s been a long time since I’ve done a book review and it’s been a long time  since I’ve posted here on my blog.

So without further ado let me start right away!

Drum roll please?

2015-27-9--18-58-18

I’ve been wanting these books for a very long time so when they came into my hands I read the first book immediately. I haven’t expected that the first chapter would be so creepy. I don’t have any ideas about the books before I read them but all I knew is the main characters were Mara Dyer and Noah Shaw and the third book is not really that good (according to some reviews that I have seen). The first chapter was an incredible start for the book because it will intrigue you and pushes you to go on with the story. After some few chapters you’ll still be wondering what will happen next and seriously though as you go deeper through the book you’ll find yourself playing as Sherlock Holmes. It becomes darker,mysterious,and creepier. The solution of their problems in the first book makes the main characters situation more complicated . So you need lots of patience when you read this book.  The first book is beautifully written and unpredictable. I just hate the way Mara was tortured by her own capabilities and just be thankful that Noah Shaw is always there to save her from any troubles. However, in the second book,the book gets more confusing and complicated. I was like “What the heck is happening in here?” I took a short break and breathe then decipher the events that were happening inside the book. I was seriously hooked by the story and was taking my Sherlock Holmes job seriously. But then again unexpected things happened so my theories were a pure failure. Anyway if you don’t have enough patience I guess there’s a possibility that you’ll put down the book because the story is a little bit dragging. As for me my patience lasted because I can’t help myself to be curious. It is giving me some nightmares every night and some ridiculous daydreams every school hours. Some secrets were revealed,trusts were tested,and love intensified in the second book. The ending of the book will leave your hearts broken and jaws hanging. The third book nearly killed me. Each chapter will give you different feelings and emotions. Violence will scream into your eyes and mind, and adrenaline will rush into your body. It will keep you awake because since it is the third book and the last book of the series we all knew that our questions will be finally answered. Indeed, the questions were answered but some characters in the book were not defined properly and the sad thing is they played some important role throughout the trilogy. It’s a little bit messy yet in the end it is worth it. Mara and Noah’s love prevailed but still you’ll still be asking some questions in the end. I’m not that satisfied with the ending though. Just read the books and you’ll get what I mean.

I know that lots of people hated how the trilogy ended but let us understand and open our minds. The author has her own reasons why the trilogy ended like that. It may be sad or not quite satisfying but the important thing is the author gave us some lessons that we can keep in our hearts and use it for the trials and challenges we might face someday.

I really love the trilogy guys it really gave me some huge impact about life,hope and being a teenager. I’ll give this trilogy 10 out of 5 stars. 🙂 I salute Michelle Hodkin for this trilogy. I hope you’ll make more stories that will inspire us in our lives!

Go check the books in here:

https://www.goodreads.com/book/show/11408650-the-unbecoming-of-mara-dyer

https://www.goodreads.com/book/show/13643567-the-evolution-of-mara-dyer

https://www.goodreads.com/book/show/15768409-the-retribution-of-mara-dyer

And purchase them here:

http://www.bookdepository.com/The-Unbecoming-of-Mara-Dyer/9780857073631

http://www.bookdepository.com/The-Evolution-of-Mara-Dyer/9780857073655

http://www.bookdepository.com/The-Retribution-of-Mara-Dyer/9781471122002

I hope you enjoyed this blog post and see you soon! 🙂 I know I really need to be more active in here and I’m catching up on that. Please don’t forget to leave your thoughts down below. 🙂

-Shawna 😀

Leave a Reply

